Leading Change.
Inspiring Excellence.

Our Annual Meeting is heading to New Orleans! Join us during the month of October for access to a vast slate of workshops, main events, educational tracks and social networking opportunities designed to fit our members' schedules and needs.

2021 SRAI Award Winners

Let’s come together to recognize this year’s SRAI award winners and newly Distinguished Faculty members. SRAI acknowledges individuals who inspire others and serve as a model for the profession of research administration. Award winners will be acknowledged on Monday, October 25 during the Awards Ceremony Luncheon.

The Herbert B. Chermside Award for Distinguished Contribution to Research Administration

The Herbert H. Chermside award is given to showcase distinguished contributions in the development of research administration as a profession. The contributions may be in the form of publications in management and research administration journals; speeches concerning research administration before major organizations; service on committees or agencies which have had a direct and positive impact upon research administration, or any other activity which has contributed to the development of research administration as a profession. Nominations for the award are solicited from leaders in colleges and universities, industry, government and the SRA International membership. The nominee must have been involved in research administration for at least 15 years.
  • Jennifer Shambrook, PhD, Director of Sponsored Programs, Office of Research and Instructor, Master of Research Administration Program, University of Central Florida

Hartford-Nicholsen Award

Named in honor of the Society’s first two presidents, Ken Hartford and Richard Nicholsen, the Hartford-Nicholsen Award was established to recognize SRA International members who have contributed their professional expertise and volunteered services over the years which have benefited the entire Society.
  • Heather Kraus, Director of Research Administration, University of Michigan
  • Annedorte Vad, Head of Administration Københavns Universitet Graduate School of Health and Medical Sciences, University of Copenhagen

Excellence Award

The Excellence Award was established in 1977 in honor of the Society’s 10th anniversary. The award recognizes SRAI members, organized by level of experience: newcomers, mid-career and advanced, who have excelled in meeting SRAI’s purpose of expanding the knowledge and tools of research administration.
  • Advanced Professional
    • Debbie Pettitt, Senior Grants Management Officer, National Institutes of Health
  • Mid-career Professional
    • Courtney Hunt, PhD, Research Manager, University of Houston
  • Newcomer Professional
    • Katie Wu, CRA, Grant Management Specialist, Southern Methodist University

Technology Innovation and Application Award

The Technology Innovation and Application Award was created in 2010 to showcase an individual or organization whose use of technology has promoted or advanced research administration.
  • Benaroya Research Institute Team
    • Ryan Benton, Senior Analyst, Grants & Contracts Administration; Anna Bjork, UX/UI Developer & Product Manager; Linda Dement, Senior Analyst, Grants & Contracts Administration; Emily Deutsch, Director, Grants & Contracts Administration; Annie Feng, Specialist, Grants & Contracts Administration; Jim Folline, Database Analyst; Ezra Graziano, Analyst, Grants & Contracts Administration; Robyn Meshulam, Intermediate Software Engineer; Charlie Quinn, Director, Research Information Systems

John Robinson Travel Award

The John Robinson Travel Award provides funding for an early-career (five years or less in the profession) SRA International member to speak at the SRA International Annual Meeting. Through this program, SRA wishes to acknowledge an endowment from John Robinson to honor his contributions to SRA by encouraging and increasing the active participation of current SRA members in the conference. The SRA International Annual Meeting provides opportunities for professional development and networking, while the Robinson Travel Award will expand the involvement of members in the conference agenda.
  • Jerod Kersey, CRA - Senior Contract/Grant Administrator, University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center

2021 SRAI Annual Meeting Scholarship 

The Annual Meeting Scholarship was established in 2016 and given for the first time the same year. Through different initiatives by SRAI, AmazonSmile, #GivingTuesday and donations by members, the Annual Meeting Scholarships will allow two (2) recipients to benefit from leading edge education and networking opportunities offered at the Annual Meeting each year. 
  • Saima Aleem, Aga Khan University Hospital
  • Adebiyi Dele Ogunbamise, Research Administrator, College of Medicine of the University of Lagos

Newly Inducted Distinguished Faculty 

SRA International Distinguished Faculty members serve the Society as expert consultants or speakers to present professional workshops, educational courses and professional development programs for SRA International, Regional, Chapter, or other special programs and events. They may also serve universities, hospitals, not-for-profit research organizations, industry, and government research laboratories in many capacities. These include, but are not limited to, "faculty" to instruct for-credit educational courses or programs; consultants to conduct external, periodic and professional reviews of research administration organization, capacity and processes; and mentors to individual members or institutional units.
  • Simon P. Philbin, Professor and Director of Engineering & Enterprise, London South Bank University 
  • Stacy Pritt, Assistant Vice President, COI & IACUC, and Export Control Officer, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
  • Sean Scott, Senior College Grants Officer, University of Kentucky 

Journal of Research Administration

Rod Rose Award

The Rod Rose Award is presented annually to the authors of the article judged by the Associate Editors as the most outstanding contribution to that year’s volume of The Journal of Research Administration.
  • Kay Cunningham, Grant Writer, The University of Sheffield AMRC
This award is given for her article, Beyond Boundaries: Developing Grant Writing Skills across Higher Education Institutions. This article appeared in the Fall 2020 edition of the Journal (Volume LI, Number 2).

Most Valuable Editor (MVE)

The Journal of Research Administration is piloting a new award, Most Valuable Editor (MVE). The award was established to recognize, encourage and reward volunteers who demonstrate exemplary service. This year the award is presented to the Author Fellowship Program subcommittee of the JRA.
  • Nathan L. Vanderford, Associate Professor and Director, University of Kentucky 

2020-2021 Outstanding Concurrent Session & Webinar Award

The Outstanding Concurrent Session Award recognizes the best concurrent session presented at the 2020 iSRA Virtual Annual Meeting. This is a “people’s choice” award based on the 2020 iSRA Virtual Annual Meeting session evaluation results.
  • Kimberly Pratt,  | This award is given for the session: Storytelling With Data: Data Visualization in Research Administration
The Outstanding Webinar Award recognizes the best webinar presented throughout 2020-2021. This is a “people’s choice” award based webinar evaluation results.  
  • Shemia Jackson, Director of Human Resources, Office of the Vice President for Research, Indiana University; Nicole Jenkins, Assistant Director, Communication & Training, Office of Contracts & Grants, University of Colorado Boulder; Alexa Van Dalsem, Deputy Director, Office of Contracts & Grants, University of Colorado Boulder | This award is given for their webinar: Hiring and Onboarding in a Remote Work Environment

Back to Top